So you want to be a Model?

In the past year, there have been numerous messages I have received from individuals wanting to get into the Modelling industry. I figured the best thing to do was to convince my peers in the industry to answer a few questions. Two of the Models, the very down to earth Danielle and Brigitte, hail from my hometown, the Mornington Peninsula and the striking Naomi (Australia’s very own Campbell) hails from the UK.

All the Models were happy for me to use their images, showcasing their natural selves. I believe this is extremely important for impressionable young girls to see, especially when the media is constantly saturated in highly ‘retouched’ images. So thank you.

Brigette Warne

* The stunning Brigitte Warne @ GIANT Management

Q: Do you study or have another job a part from Modelling?

B: I studied a double degree in Public Health & Health Promotion / Commerce (with a major in Marketing) it was a big workload and took 4 years. It was in my first year at Uni that I was approached by a modelling agency and I have been modelling ever since.

D: I studied Bachelor of Arts (Multimedia) then spent my time in between modelling jobs volunteering and freelancing in the film industry wherever I could. I now work most of the time in the film and fashion industry as a director, videographer and editor.

N: I studied fashion design and communication/business, but during modelling to get extra cash, I started childcare work then did a course in it.

Danielle Singleton

* Beautiful Danielle Singleton @ GIANT Management

Q: How do you look after your health and do you exercise?

B: I have always been super active and LOVE the outdoors. I have been horse riding since I was 10 years old and it keeps me very toned and fit (It also keeps me active and super busy, not to mention poor!! haha) I also play tennis, surf,  do pilates and walk whenever I can, lots of stretching and situps in front of the t.v!!

D: I go to yoga three times a week, I jog and walk or ride my bike as much as I can.

N: Contrary to what you think or hear about Models, I don’t work out and I really do eat whatever I want, but I do have a great metabolism and I’m always very active. I tend to walk a lot to the places I go.

Naomi KissieduGorgeous mother Naomi Kissiedu Green

Q: List some of the Modelling jobs you have done.

B: I have recently done some really great jobs for Just Jeans, Portmans, Jason Grech and Lolita. I also recently travelled to China, where I got to work with some great brands including Dior and Chanel. However, it was certainly not all glamorous and fun. It was the hardest I have ever worked (14 hour days, with no breaks and often no food and only two days off in three months) It was also very difficult being away from my family, friends, boyfriend and my animals!! However, it was an amazing experience and I am fortunate to have experienced it.

D: Highlights have been walking for Chanel, David Jones, Myer, Lee and Wrangler Jeans, L’oreal, Redken. Campaign for Envirosax, Zoe Elizabeth swimwear, Overland in NZ, Trent Nathan Eyewear and most recently Eastland. A great highlight was being published in Vogue for Karen Willis gowns and Harper’s Bazaar for L’oreal.

N: Some of my bigger jobs have included Melbourne Fashion Week, Adidas billboard shoot and TV show, Project Runway Australia.

Work Mode

* Us in work mode.

Q: How did you get into Modelling?

B: I was actually picked up whilst I was out one night with some girlfriends, an agent who worked for a very small agency approached me and gave me his card. Soon after I joined the agency, it actually closed down, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise as I was then picked up by a much bigger agency, and that’s when it all started happening for me.

D: I was approached by the senior editor of Cleo magazine who was on holidays where I used to live on the Mornington Peninsula. She told me to contact the top three agencies in Melbourne and go from there.

N: Got into modelling in the UK where I got spotted in a modelling competition after coming runner-up in the contest.

Shirlene Lai Allison* (l) Au natural at home and (r) All made up for the camera!
Shirlene Lai Allison @ GIANT Management

Q: Any personal tips to help those wanting to give Modelling a go?

B: Do your research and talk to other people in the industry about which agencies are reputable and find out which ones suit you the best. There are lots of dishonest and scamming agencies which are purely running by making Models pay huge signing up fees. No good agency should ever make you pay to be apart of their agency!! However, you have to be prepared to pay for some costs such as getting a test shoot, portfolio and prints! And the best advice is to be yourself and never let what other people say get into your head!

D: Treat it like a job. Be professional and friendly to everyone. Keep on top of your health and fitness for a healthy body and mind. Be proactive about having a good relationship with your agency. Most importantly have other goals. Modelling is a great source of income and can definitely be a lot of fun, but it’s a good idea to have a long-term goal you want to head towards as well as a part-time job.

N: Don’t take rejection personally, you must have a thick skin to work in the industry and lastly be honest with yourself, is modelling for you? Do you really have what it takes?

And my own advice….like any job in any industry, be the utmost professional, take initiative, treat everyone with respect and have good work ethics and you will be on your way to doing great things.

– Shirlene Lai Allison xo

3 thoughts on “So you want to be a Model?”

  1. We need (I’m a photographer) more articles / insight from the likes of Models p/ their erspective to help emerging talent negotiate the ‘Industry”. Kudos for a good insight from those who spare their talent in front of camera. All the best to you!

  2. Thank you Sloan for your feedback, its been much appreciated. This has been an article I have been meaning to write about for a while now!

Leave a reply

