Super Man

(l to r) Uncle Paul in his early days training his brother Jimmy and celebrating a birthday in the family.

 

My first post was always going to be about my Uncle Paul, Dad’s younger brother.

He has inspired me to make the most of life and most importantly, to appreciate the small things that we all take for granted.

In his early thirties, Uncle Paul had a young family, a business to run and was an extremely athletic man who suffered from a brain tumor. Having undergone surgery to this area was always going to be risky business, which led to a neurological disorder which has impaired both his physical and mental capabilities. 

For the past 14 years, he has lived with this condition, unable to do the most basic human things that we all take for granted. It was especially hard on my wedding day, knowing that if Uncle Paul was well he would have been there. As kids, he would take me and my sister out when our parents were busy working, that will never be forgotten.

In the words of his son, Steven Lay (18) who is a talented golfer and has just commenced his first year of uni:

“I don’t often dwell on the past, because there is nothing you can change or do about it, however if someone in the future invented a time machine of some sort, I’d make sure that dad didn’t go to surgery”

“My dad will always be my father figure. No matter what, he is my inspiration, my drive, my will to succeed. Although dad isn’t one who can walk, talk, teach me how to shave, give me lectures on studying or there to say goodnight as I was growing up, I know he would have if he could. I love my dad and there are no ifs, or buts about it. The life of Steven Lay hasn’t always been a smooth ride, but it’s the life chosen for me.”

On that note… Before you decide to complain about having a bad day, it is never going to be as tough as what others are going through on a day to day basis. See yourself as lucky.

– Shirlene Lai Allison xo

2 thoughts on “Super Man”

  1. Inspiring, great work on the whole blog Shirlene! I started with the latest and ended with this one, sure does sound like a ‘super man’!! Good on you for posting, and keep them coming. All the best to you and your family… Peace and Love xx

Leave a reply

